POLARIS MUSIC PRIZE ANNOUNCES THE 2011 LONG LIST Toronto, ON (June 16, 2011) The Polaris Music Prize Long List was revealed by Steve Jordan, PrizeFounder and Executive Director, at a press conference held at the Drake Hotel in Toronto earlier today. This is the sixth year of the prize, which awards $30,000 to the best Canadian album, judged solely on artistic merit, without regard to genre or record sales. The Long List consists of the top 40 full-length Canadian records released from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2011, according to a vote by the 227 members of the Polaris Music Prize jury. The jury consists of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada. No music industry personnel with direct financial relationships with artists vote for Polaris. “An unprecedented number of jury members agonized over paring their ballots down to five choices. In our view their careful consideration has culminated in thebest Long List in our history,” said Jordan. Jordan also announced that the Long List is being presented by Recordings Arts Collecting Society, a division of ACTRA. “The Polaris Music Prize is an important event for Canadian recording artists and is one of the few awardswhere the winner is chosen based solely on artistic merit,” said Ferne Downey, ACTRA National President. “ACTRA RACS is thrilled to come on board to sponsor this year’s Long List and celebrate the best music our country has to offer.” The Polaris Jury will now vote to reduce the Long List to the 10 title Short List which will be revealed July 6 at the Drake Hotel in Toronto on a live broadcast on SIRIUS Satellite Radio Canada’s channel 152 and CBC Radio 3. The winner will be revealed Monday, September 19 at the Polaris Music Prize gala. The event will also be broadcast live on SIRIUS Satellite Radio Canada’s channel 152 and CBC Radio 3 and will be held once again at CTV’s Concert Hall studios at Toronto’s Masonic Temple. The show will also be broadcast on MuchMusic and muchmusic.com. The 2011 Polaris Music Prize Long List: Arcade Fire - The Suburbs Austra - Feel It Break Black Mountain - Wilderness Heart Braids - Native Speaker Buck 65 - 20 Odd Years Louise Burns - Mellow Drama D-Sisive - Jonestown 2: Jimmy Go Bye Bye The Dears - Degeneration Street Destroyer - Kaputt Diamond Rings - Special Affections Dirty Beaches - Badlands Luke Doucet and The White Falcon - Steel City Trawler Eternia & MoSS - At Last Galaxie - Tigre et Diesel Jenn Grant - Honeymoon Punch Tim Hecker - Ravedeath, 1972 Hey Rosetta! - Seeds Hooded Fang - Album Imaginary Cities - Temporary Resident Land Of Talk - Cloak and Cipher Little Scream - The Golden Record The Luyas - Too Beautiful To Work Malajube - La Caverne Miracle Fortress - Was I The Wave? One Hundred Dollars - Songs Of Man Doug Paisley - Constant Companion PS I Love You - Meet Me At The Muster Station Daniel Romano - Sleep Beneath the Willow The Rural Alberta Advantage - Departing Ron Sexsmith - Long Player Late Bloomer Shotgun Jimmie - Transistor Sister Sloan - The Double Cross Frederick Squire - March 12 Stars - The Five Ghosts Colin Stetson - New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges Timber Timbre - Creep On Creepin' On The Weeknd - House Of Balloons Women - Public Strain Neil Young - Le Noise Young Galaxy - Shapeshifting About the Polaris Music Prize The Polaris Music Prize is a not-for-profit organization that annually honours,celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music by recognizing then marketing the albums of the highest artistic integrity, without regard to musical genre, professional affiliation, or sales history, as judged by a panel of selected music critics. For more information on the Polaris Music Prize, visit polarismusicprize.ca. Media contact: Joanne Setterington Indoor Recess (416) 703-5217 joanne@indoorrecess.com
Tell us what you think