News & Press

INsiders Guide: Fake Shark | Outloud Culture

Audiences throughout 2021 with stellar singles, one of Canada’s hottest indie exports Fake Shark finally release their highly anticipated 4th studio album Time for the Future – which they share today alongside the music video for “Feel That Way” featuring Madison Olds. Comprised of creative visionary Kevvy alongside Louis Wu, Tony Dallas, Alex Glassford and Jake Fox, in Time for the Future Fake Shark orchestrate an album that defines diversity. From high energy indie-punk tracks to spacey and immersive interludes; there’s a reason why they are simply one of Canada’s best bands.

Time for the Future takes inspiration from every aspect of the music spectrum, while still crafting a sonically unique body of work. Using a mixture of heavy-hitting drums, vintage crate-digging samples and powerful melodic vocals, the collective has built a whole new sound simultaneously transporting audiences to the past and future. Kevvy, the creative mind behind the project, explains “I want the music to feel nostalgic and futuristic at the same time.” With his musical background, producing and writing for world-renowned artists like Carly Rae Jepsen, he’s got an ear for what sounds will connect to a modern audience. He adds “What do they expect to hear, and how much can I play with those expectations to create something fresh and exciting?”