News & Press

Twin River Share First New Music in Six Years | Exclaim

Hear the Vancouver duo’s lead-off single from forthcoming new EP ‘When We Think About Time’

Twin River Share First New Music in Six Years
Photo: Grady Mitchell

By Megan LaPierrePublished Jun 17, 2022After unleashing a cover of a CanCon classic — Sloan‘s “The Other Man” — last month, Vancouver’s Twin River return with their first original single in six years, “Over and Over,” ahead of a new EP.

When We Think About Time is set to arrive on August 12 via Light Organ Records. It follows 2016’s Passing Shade and their 2014 debut LP Should the Light Go Out, both of which were recorded as a quintet. Now being held down by core duo Courtney Ewan and Andy Bishop, Twin River are straying from their synth-laden dream pop for something more guitar-driven, ragged and raw.

The EP was produced by Colin Stewart, and sees guest appearances from Ladyhawk‘s Ryan Peters and Darcy Hancock, Yukon Blonde‘s Rebecca Gray and Louise Burns.

Of the searing single, bandleader Ewan said in a release: 

“Over and Over” is about watching someone you love struggle with addiction, and the overwhelming spiral of watching history repeat itself. It’s a war between a sense of personal responsibility to this person and the urge to protect yourself; trying to impose boundaries but also feeling called to jump back in whenever the same alarm bells are rung. It’s like being caught in an undertow and never really sure when or where you’re going to pop back up — just when you think you’re headed for the shore, it grabs you again and pulls you back under, over and over again.

Watch the video for “Over and Over” below, where you’ll also find the EP tracklist.

When We Think About Time:

1. I’m Alright
2. Over and Over
3. Myths
4. Walking
5. Other Side
6. I Was Wrong